Coldplay have been announced as guest performers on the X Factor final.

The final of the show takes place across the weekend of December 12-13 at Wembley Arena and will be shown live on ITV.

Coldplay release their new album ‘A Head Full Of Dreams’ on December 4, with ITV announcing today (November 26) that the band will take to the stage to perform one track.

Coldplay recently confirmed plans for a UK stadium tour next year.

The band announced the dates hours after posters sporting artwork in the band’s trademark neon colours appeared around London and Manchester announcing a gig at Manchester’s Etihad Stadium on June 4 and shows at Wembley Stadium on June 16 and 18. The band will also play Glasgow’s Hampden Park on June 7.

The shows are part of a world tour, which starts in Buenos Aires on March 31. The ‘Head Full Of Dreams Tour’ will be Coldplay’s first tour for three years.

Frontman Chris Martin commented, “I think that not going on tour with [2014 album] ‘Ghost Stories’ was one of the best decisions we ever made, because it gave us such pent-up energy in the studio and completely reignited everyone’s desire to go around the world and play music. ‘A Head Full Of Dreams’ was written as a record to be performed live. We can’t wait to do that.”

A pre-sale will be held at 9.30am on November 26, for anyone who pre-orders the album on Amazon before midnight on November 23. Tickets go on general sale next November 27 at 9.30am.

Coldplay will play:

Manchester Etihad Stadium (June 4)
Glasgow Hampden Park (June 7)
Wembley Stadium (June 16,18)

‘A Head Full Of Dreams’ will be released on December 4 via Parlophone/Atlantic and features unlikely guest cameos from Beyonce, Noel Gallagher, Tove Lo and Gwyneth Paltrow, who provides backing vocals to ‘Everglow’ – listen here.

Speaking about the new record, Martin said: “We wanted to marry all the music that we love, from Drake to Oasis. There was a feeling that we don’t have anything to lose. We’re very comfortable now with the fact that we’re not for everybody.”

He also described the record as a “hippie album”. “It’s about love and acceptance and embracing what happens to you,” he explained. “It’s quite a hippie album. All of our records were a journey to get to this one.”

The tracklist for the new record is as follows:

‘A Head Full Of Dreams’
‘Hymn For The Weekend’
‘Adventure Of A Lifetime’
‘Army Of One’
‘Amazing Day’
‘Colour Spectrum’

This article was first featured on

  Recommend this

About the author Gig Street More information on the author

Gig Street is an informational music website filled with news, competitions and special offers and reviews of both recorded and live music!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *